Hey You


The Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA) was established in August 1996 by the Uganda Wildlife Statute, which merged the Uganda National Parks and the Game Department. It is governed by a Board of Trustees appointed by minister responsible for wildlife.

UWA is in charge of management of 10 National Parks, 12 Wildlife Reserves, 14 Wildlife Sanctuaries and provides guidance for 5 Community Wildlife Areas.

UWA’s mission is to conserve and sustainably manage the wildlife and Protected Areas of Uganda in partnership with neighbouring communities and stakeholders for the benefit of the people of Uganda and the global community.

Back to top 

Commitment to Implementing International Conventions and Standards

UWA is mandated to manage wildlife and wildlife protected areas of Uganda in partnership with neighbouring communities and other stakeholders. We are committed to adhere to the international conventions and protocols for which Uganda is a party. These include but are not limited to; the Convention for Biological Diversity (CBD), the Convention for International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) and many others that have been ratified.

Since UWA also manages some of the forested protected areas, UWA adheres to the forest management practices consistent with the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) Principles and Criteria in managing these forests to ensure that benefits accruing from the conservation of these areas are generously shared with neighbouring local communities”.